Psalm 23:4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Tonight as I ran through my route as God has asked me, I couldn’t help but be gripped by fear as I saw stranger after stranger walk towards my path. At one point during my run, I saw a hooded man walking towards me and was convinced he was going to turn towards my way, which happened to be the way through the dark woods. And sure enough he did. Fear gripped me and I ran faster, praying louder that God would protect me. And this verse from ps23:4 came to me as I ran away from my potential ‘attacker’. And even though I know the words, they brought me little comfort in that moment. Last night I asked my husband what cause (apart from his faith) he believed in so much that if necessary he would be willing to die for; after revealing that for him, after Christ, it would probably be his family. I said that for me, it would be this; praying for my community and seeing God transform it from the inside out. And yet when faced with a ‘valley of shadows’ I showed fear. God have mercy on me, a sinner.

